Principles of Certification according to OHSAS 18001/ISO 45001

OHSAS 18001 Occupational Health and Safety is an important part of the management of each organization, especially in relation to the legal requirements of the country in which the organization operates. A number of Occupational Health and Safety Assessment (OHSAS 18001) standards have been developed to help organizations develop health and safety policy. The new updated version called ISO 45001:2018 has already been published and released.  This is based on OHSAS 18001 and other recognized OH & S standards and conventions. The standard requires an organization to identify and comply with the applicable OH&S legal – and other requirements. However, ISO 45001 also has some significant changes from OHSAS 18001.

The OHSAS 18001 certificate guarantees that the occupational health and safety management system implemented in the company has been assessed by an accredited certification body and complies with the requirements of the OHSAS 18001 standard.

Information on co-existing period and validity of certificates issued as per   OHSAS 18001:2007 and timelines for transition to new version

  • The new version ISO 45001:2018 has got published on March 12th , 2018
  • ISO 45001:2018 issued in Oct 2018
  • Transition period started on 12.03.2018 and will be over on 12.03.2021
  • The validity of certificates issued according to the standards OHSAS 18001: 2007 is set in parallel – i.e. until 12.3.2021 at the latest
  • Certification and recertification of management systems according to OHSAS 18001: 2007 will take place no later than 12.3.2020
  • We recommend to all those interested in certification and recertification to plan in time to implement the requirements of ISO 45001: 2018 into their occupational health and safety management system.

Crucial elements of the standard

  • Focus on context of the organization and stake holders (in new version based on high level structure)

  • Focusing on identifying and addressing risks and opportunities

  • Greater interconnection of strategy, policy and objectives to prevent fatal accidents, accidents at work and occupational diseases; workers and other persons

  • Less emphasis on documentation according to the actual needs of the organization

  • Emphasis on workers’ participation along with leadership commitment towards OH & S

  • Communication – equal emphasis on internal and external communication

  • Managing or influencing the outsourced processes and their delimitation within the OH & S

  • Emphasis on meeting legal and other requirements.

Benefits of Certification

  • A healthier and safer workplace

  • Maximize productivity-Manage evolving risk profiles through a systematic process to keep your workforce healthy, minimizing downtime for optimal daily output

  • improving the occupational safety and health system adopted at all levels of the organization

  • systematic reduction of risks that endanger the safety and health of all persons affected by the activities, products or services of the organization

  • reducing the incidence of occupational diseases and accidents – increasing performance

  • minimizing the cost of accidents at the workplace

  • Demonstration of commitment to meet legal requirements for occupational safety

Certification Process

The certification process consists of 3 basic phases:
1) Elaboration of documentation
2) Implementation of System Documentation
3) Certification by an accredited certification body
The times of elaboration of documentation and putting the system into practice depends upon the client organization.

The certification audit takes places in two stages.

1st stage audit

  • Registration of application for certification
  • Agreement for conducting a 1st stage audit
  • Appointing a team of auditors
  • Assessment of System documentation
  • Preparing an audit plan
  • On-site audit in connection with examination of documentation
  • Elaboration of the 1st stage audit report documenting nonconformities and audit findings

2nd stage audit

  • Agreement for conducting a 2nd stage audit
  • Appointing a team of auditors
  • Assessment of System documentation
  • Preparing an audit plan
  • On-site audit from the point of view of the environmental aspect
  • Elaboration of the 2nd stage audit report
  • Assessment of the audit reports by the expert reviwers
  • Issuing the certificate

During the three year validity period of the certificate, a surveillance audit takes place once a year, whose aim is to make sure that the environmental management system is maintained and further developed.

Recertification audit

In order to ensure the continuous validity of the certification, a recertification audit should be carried out in the third year before the certificate expires


  • Certification of quality management systems (ISO 9001)
  • Certification of environment management systems (ISO 14001)
  • Certification of critical control points system in food processing industry (HACCP)
  • Certification of food safety management system (ISO 22000)
  • Certification of quality management systems in manufacturers of medical devices (EN ISO 13485)
  • ISO 22716
  • SA 8000
  • IATF 16949
  • Assessment of conformity of products to the requirements of European directives (CE marking of products)
  • Testing of products